Welcome to the Medina Township, Ohio Website

  • For Emergencies Dial 911
  • 3799 Huffman Road, Medina OH 44256
  • Township Secretary: 330-721-1380
  • Trustees & Fiscal Officer: 330.725.5713
  • Zoning Office:  330.721.1997
  • FAX:  330.725.2945
  • For Fire Department non-emergency calls, call Medina City Fire Department at 330-725-1772. We now contract with Medina City Fire Department.



Meetings & Minutes:
  • The December 13 Trustee Meeting has been cancelled and will now be held on December 10 at 7 PM
  • The December 27 Trustee Meeting has been cancelled and will now be held on December 20 at 7 PM
  • Zoning Commission Meeting – December 18 at 7 PM
  • BZA Meeting – CANCELLED



Seeking Zoning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals Members

The Medina Township Board of Trustees is seeking applications from residents who are interested in serving on either the Zoning Commission or Zoning Board of Appeals.  Meetings are held once a month at 7:00 pm.  Compensation is $40.00 per meeting attended.  Please send resume and letter of intent to the Medina Township Board of Trustees 3799 Huffman Road, Medina, OH 44256 or e-mail them to medinatownship@medinatownship.com.

The deadline is December 21, 2018 at close of business



Position Vacancy-Chief of Police

Medina Township, Ohio is seeking candidates for the position of Chief of Police.  Medina Township is within the Cleveland/Akron/Medina area. The successful candidate will lead the department and staff of sworn officers and an administrative assistant.  The police department budget for 2019 will be approximately $1.3 million.  Annual compensation to be negotiated according to experience and will be established at the time of employment dependent on education and experience. An excellent benefit package is also included.


A valid Ohio driver’s license; certification as a police officer in the State of Ohio, minimum of ten (10) years law enforcement experience with at least five (5) years of full-time paid law enforcement at a command level.  At minimum an Associate degree in a field related to law enforcement, with a BA, BS or higher preferred.  Alternative combinations of education, such as FBI Academy, Northwestern School of Police Staff and Command (SPSC), Southern Police Institute (SPI) Certified Law Enforcement Executive (CLEE) or the Police Executive Leadership of College (PELC) may be substituted for a degree.

Job Tasks and Responsibilities

Candidates must have strong leadership, organizational and communication skills, and possess the ability to establish and maintain effective working relationships within the department, with other municipal departments, the community and with other local, state and federal agencies.  Candidates must have thorough knowledge of the administration of a police department and of the principles and practices of modern police science. The successful candidate must demonstrate knowledge and proficiency in leadership, budgeting, problem solving, training, disciplinary procedures, decision-making and public relations.

Application Procedure

To apply, please submit to Medina Township trustees, 3799 Huffman Road Medina, Ohio 44256. RE: Chief of Police, the following:

  1. A Cover letter outlining your interest in the position
  2. A resume including detailed information relative to the qualifications specified above
  3. Three letters of reference (may send separately) from individuals familiar with the applicant’s prior work experience
  4. An organizational chart from your present agency.

All application materials must be received by Medina Township offices no later than 12:00pm (noon) Wednesday December 28, 2018 no phone calls, faxes or emails.  Those selected as finalists can expect the interview process to begin between January 13-January 21, 2019. A comprehensive background check and psychological testing may be conducted on all finalists.

Medina Township is an equal opportunity employer.


Please click on the Medina County Emergency Management logo at left to sign up to receive Medina County Emergency Alerts

Chief Arbogast has announced a new crime prevention program titled PROTECHDNA.  It is designed to help recovered stolen articles and is completely free. Please click here to view the flyer for full details. 

Dog Control Resolution Download

Medina County Solid Waste Management DistrictResidential Yard Waste Drop-Off Manifest

Don’t Drip and Drive – notice from the Roads Department – click here for info

Safety Notices and Other Important Information From Chief Arbogast (Click Here)


Meet Our Officials

Medina Township employs three elected trustees and one elected  fiscal officer. Zoning Commission and Zoning Appeals members are appointed. For bios, phone numbers, email addresses and social media, please click on the individual’s photo.